Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
May 5, 2015
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 416
Format: Audio
Source: Purchased
Amazon US
Goodreads

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I’ve had blogger buddies telling me to read Maas for ages. When A Court of Thorns and Roses came out earlier this year, they raved. RAVED. While I love me some Young Adult Fantasy, it’s not my go to.  So, Maas has been on the backburner.  Waiting for my mood.  Which, finally hit.

Now, I should clarify…I would not classify A Court of Thorns and Roses as Young Adult.  It’s more mature than most YA, but it’s not full on adult fantasy either.  It’s somewhere in that new adult middle ground. 

I should also clarify that I didn’t read this book, I listened to it.  And let me say, the narrator, Jennifer Ikeda, did an excellent job.  I’d absolutely listen to her again. 

Now that the housekeeping is done, let me tell you what I thought.

I really kind of loved it.  Is that a good enough review?  No? Sigh…okay.

Maas created a greatly fantastical world that was actually very easy to imagine.  Humans know fairy’s exist, they know where they are, and they are forced by age old treaties to keep their distance.

Feyre knows the rules but she also knows she may have to bend them in order to care for and feed her father and two sisters. However, bending leads to breaking and breaking leads to consequences.  In her case, being taking by a Fae lord to his kingdom where she is to live out her life.  Never seeing her family again.

What Feyre doesn’t know, is that Tamlin’s kingdom is cursed and he’s in danger of losing it all.  With little hope for a future outside of Tamlin’s protection, she reluctantly finds a way to cope and adapt to her new life and the people in it.

And reluctantly fall in love with it all.  Even with the threat of losing it, too.

A Court of Thorns and Roses has all the elements that appeal to me in a fantasy.  Creatures that straddle the line of good and evil, trickery and deceit, action and romance…especially if it’s a bit forbidden or taboo. It has a quiet sexiness to it, something every good Fae story should have, in my opinion.

It also gave me a strong character in Feyre.  I adored the girl.  I’d love to say that Tamlin was as strong for me, but he wasn’t. He did have some great moments though.  Some awkward and some just down right swoony.  But, it was actually ‘the other guy’ that held my attention more.  WHICH, only made me love this book all the more.  It gave it more conflict but not in an obnoxious love triangle way.  Because it isn’t that. 

And though it’s not a super happily ever after, it doesn’t leave you with a huge cliffhanger either.

All in all, ACOTAR is just a fantastic read and I am really (REALLY, REALLY) looking forward to more.  I also really need to go read Maas‘ other titles…so off I go!



%d bloggers like this: