RERUN Review: Undead and Unwed by MaryJanice Davidson

RERUN Review: Undead and Unwed by MaryJanice DavidsonUndead and Unwed Series: Undead #1
Published by Berkley March 2, 2004
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 255
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon US
Goodreads

It'a been a helluva week for Betsy Taylor. First, she loses her job. Then, to top things off, she's killed in a car accident. But what really bites (besides waking up in the morgue dressed in a pink suit and cheap shoes courtesy of her stepmother) is that she can't seem to stay dead. Every night she rises with a horrible craving for blood. She's not taking too well to a liquid diet.

Worst of all, her new friends have the ridiculous idea that Betsy is the prophesied vampire queen, and they want her help in overthrowing the most obnoxious, power-hungry vampire in five centuries - a badly dressed Bela Lugosi wannabe, natch. Frankly, Betsy couldn't care less about vamp politics, but they have a powerful weapon of persuasion: designer shoes. How can any self-respecting girl say no? But a collection of Ferragamos isn't the only temptation for Betsy. It's just a lot safer than the scrumptious Sinclair - a seductive bloodsucker whose sexy gaze seems as dangerous as a stake through the heart...

RERUN Reviews features reviews by Debbie, previously published on Keep Calm & Read Romance or Talk Supe — and reviews by Ali previously published on GingerRead Reviews.

 

Jimmy Choo, Prada, Ferragamo and Minolo Blahnik’s, OH MY! Mary Janice Davidson is speaking in my language, Shoes!

Undead and Unwed is a story about Elizabeth ‘Betsy’ Taylor, a smart-mouthed thirty year old secretary with a penchant for shoes. And not just any off the rack shoes, but fine designer shoes. Girlfriend is not the type to be caught wearing BOGO finds from Payless. To say that Betsy has had the single most horrible week would be an understatement. She turns thirty, gets laid off on her birthday, is ran over by a Pontiac Azteck, and to top everything off, she wakes up ‘undead’ in a coffin wearing a hideous polyester pink suit and cheap Payless shoes. THE HORROR!

Not long after her rebirth, a group of vampires discover her and reveal that she is the prophesied ‘Queen of the Undead’. She admittedly refuses to be involved in vampire politics and tries to live her ‘normal’ life. Unfortunately, the creepy and menacing current vampire ruler isn’t having any of it and drags Betsy into the thick of a brewing battle between two vampire groups. As if things couldn’t get any more complicated, the other group trying to lure Betsy is lead by the utterly sexy, delicious and arrogant Eric Sinclair, whom she would like to strangle when she’s not thinking about humping him.

Filed under the paranormal romance section, Undead and Unwed more of a cross between chick lit and paranormal with a little romance. There were quite a few laugh out loud moments from our heroine and her growing shoe collection would make any shoe lover seethe with envy. The other vampires and humans that surround Betsy are as hilarious and likeable as our heroine. My favorites being her human best friend, Jessica and gay roommate, Marc.

Undead and Unwed is definitely not your ‘typical’ Vampire novel, which I liked. There were times when Betsy herself laughed at how some of the Vampires she’d met fit perfectly into the cliche. The novel was definitely entertaining and a quick read. So if you are wanting to stray away from the normal dark and brooding vampire novels, then I recommend you give this book a try.

 

 


read more

Review: Turbulence by Whitney G.

Review: Turbulence by Whitney G.Turbulence by Whitney G.
Published by Whitney G. August 30, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotica Romance
Pages: 412
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon US
Goodreads

He and I met under a cloud of clichés:
Boy meets girl. Boy charms girl. Boy screws girl.

Our story was supposed to end right after the orgasms, right after we went our separate ways.

But then we saw each other again…

And neither of us could walk away.

Our rules were simple.
Our passion was scandalous.
Our hearts were supposed to be safe…

But when you find something so all-consuming—something so intoxicating and inescapable, you’ll risk everything you’ve ever had, even if you’re destined to crash and burn.

This is us.
This is our messed up love.
This is turbulence.

Pre-boarding & Boarding Announcement:
Good morning romance readers. This is the pre-boarding announcement for Black Heart Reviews review of TURBULENCE by Whitney G. We are now inviting those readers who have been anxiously waiting for this new release, and any readers who love a cocky hero, to begin boarding at this time. Regular boarding will begin in approximately two seconds.

Ladies and gentlemen, the Captain has turned on the Fasten Seat Belt sign. If you haven’t already done so, please make sure your eReader is charged and ready to go because Whitney G. is about to take you on a ride riddled with passion, family drama, angst, heartache and Whitney’s patented knock your socks off love scenes.

Safety Briefing:
We remind you that this book has a dirty talking, cocky, Alpha hero. Readers who have an aversion to dirty-talking, cocky, Alpha heroes are prohibited on the entire aircraft, including the lavatories.

Now, if you’re a fan of the dirty talk, try holding on to your panties because Jake C. Weston is set on annihilating them. The filth that comes out of Whitney’s heroes mouths is one of the main reasons why she is an automatic buy author for me. The dirtier their mouths are the better, and Jake C. Weston is in fine form when he’s DTF. Let’s take a moment to read what kind of filth comes out of this sexy beast…

“I won’t be the guy you think you can call when you need to talk to someone. Unless it’s about how wet your pussy is, I don’t want your name on my call log, and I don’t need you thinking we’ll ever be friends.”

“We can talk tonight. We can talk about whatever the hell you want to talk about.”

“Tonight as in ‘the morning’ when we actually land in Paris, or ‘tonight’ as in right now?”

“Tonight as in right after we leave this restroom, as in right after I make you turn around against that door and remind you who your pussy belongs to.”

“What’s your favorite type of woman?”

“What?”

“You know, blonde, brunette, redhead. Those types.”

“I’ve never had a type.”

“Why not?”

“Because there’s not way for me to tell what a woman’s pussy is like just by looking at the color of the hair on her head.”

Gah! He is sooooo the Jerk of my dreams! Forget the hearts and flowers type of guy. Someone get me a Jake C. Weston, STAT! This man is on FIYAH!  😈 

Turbulence:
Ladies and gentlemen, the Captain has turned on the fasten seat belt sign. We are now crossing a zone of turbulence. Please return your seats and keep your seat belts fastened. And for real, keep those seat belts fastened because Whitney G. has her jets set on full throttle and she don’t give a f*ck about your emotions.

As always, things are never smooth sailing for Whitney’s couples. Jake is a classic commitment phobe who was content on having emotionless sexual relationships with women in all the area codes. But things quickly change when he meets Gillian, a headstrong young woman that ignites a hunger in Jake that he hasn’t experienced in a long time. Jake’s insists that their relationship can be nothing more than hot f*cks in layover cities or airport bathrooms, but Gillian ins’t having any of that and makes a valiant effort to plant herself in Jake’s stubborn mind and hardened heart. Gillian and Jake’s complicated love story felt like a never-ending back and forth swing that wreaked havoc on an otherwise passionate and intense relationship, and I was simply glued to the pages wanting more and more of this couple. 

But Gillian and Jake’s push and pull relationship wasn’t the only thing that had me holding on to my seat. Whitney throws in some family drama that always kept you on edge and wondering what the hell could be wrong with these people. I really wanted to throat punch every single member of Gillian’s pompous family. They were not nice people and it really made me admire Gillian’s strength and determination to not heed to their expectations of what they thought she needed to be. As for Jake’s family…well, there was some serious fucked-upness going on there. The deeply rooted lies and secrets of his family will disturb you, and make you as angry and jilted as Jake was. I loved discovering what made Jack the way he was, and I loved seeing the tender and heart aching moments that really made you understand where all his hate and resentment came from. Whitney definitely played with my emotions during some scenes and had my eyes wet with tears.


Landing:

On behalf of Black Heart Reviews and the entire crew, I’d like to thank Whitney G. for bringing me on this journey called TURBULENCE. I was practically salivating on my Kindle while reading Gillian and Jake’s explosive love story. Whitney is a master at combining witty banter, passionate love stories and HOT sex that’ll set your face on fire. The witty banter was on point. The humor was on point. The sex is ALWAYS on point. This book was everything I’ve come to love about Whitney and her writing, and was the perfect remedy to get me out of my most recent reading funk.

The wait for this book felt excruciatingly long, but the end result was totally worth it. Whitney G’s books are always enjoyable and I will always look forward to whatever hot read she has coming next. If you’ve been waiting on this book as long as I have, don’t wait any longer to read it. RUN to Amazon or B&N or wherever and purchase this book now!

 
 

About Whitney G.

A self diagnosed candy addict, travel junkie, and hypochondriac, Whitney Gracia Williams LOVES to write about characters that make you laugh, cry, and want to (in the case of Claire Gracen) reach through your Kindle and slap them.

She is the New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of Reasonable Doubt,the Mid Life Love Series, the Jilted Bride Series, the My Last Resolution Series, Wasted Love, and Captain of My Soul.

When she’s not locked inside her room, feverishly typing away on her laptop, she can be found here:


read more

Blog Tour: Midnight Soul by Kristen Ashley [Review, Excerpt + Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Midnight Soul by Kristen Ashley [Review, Excerpt + Giveaway]Midnight Soul by Kristen Ashley
Series: Fantasyland #5
Published by Kristen Ashley August 15, 2016
Genres: Romance, Fantasy
Format: ARC
Source: Copy for Honest Review
Also in this series: Wildest Dreams
Also by this author: At Peace
Amazon US

Against his will, Noctorno Hawthorne, an undercover vice cop, finds himself embroiled in magic, mayhem and parallel universes. Too late, he meets an amazing woman only to find she’s destined for his identical twin in another world.

And things aren’t going real great there.

Noc is recruited to help save that world.

What he doesn’t know is his destined love resides there.

Franka Drakkar wears a mask. A mask she never takes off to protect herself in a world of malice, intrigue and danger.

When Franka meets Noc and he discovers her secrets, convinced she carries a midnight soul, having shielded herself from forming bonds with anyone, she struggles with accepting his tenderness and care.

When Noc meets Franka, over wine and whiskey, her mask slips and Noc knows it’s her—only her—and he has to find a way to get her to come home with him.

And then make her want to stay.

While I was excited to jump back into this otherworldly place with magical creatures and epic fairytale romances, I was also hesitant to bid adieu to a world that I fell for hard and fast. I mean, who seriously enjoys saying goodbye to a world and characters they have fallen in love with? Not I. But even with a bit of a resistance, I dived in whole heartedly into Midnight Soul and discovered that even villains can be redeemed and find their own HEA.

The choice of having Franka Drakkar as the heroine for the final installment of this series was a bit of a peculiar choice, in my opinion, since Franka has pretty much been that villainous bitch from the very beginning. While I enjoyed her as a villain, I personally wasn’t sure how much I would like her as a lead. But once I started reading, I grew more and more intrigued and wanted to know more about what made her such a stone-cold, black-hearted bitch. I think villains are always the most complex characters in a story and I was curious to see how many layers there were to this thick-skinned venomous woman. 

“You are not one fuckin’ thing like they think you are, are you?”
“I’m exactly what they think I am.”

It didn’t take KA very long to have me in tears while I watched her break down Franka’s walls and reveal to us the reasons why Franka was so selfish, ruthless and conniving. Kristen gives you a front row seat to Franka’s hellish reality and this one particular scene left me in some serious tears. As painful as it was to see Franka be brought down so low, it’s what we (as readers) needed to see to understand why Franka needed to play the devious and malicious character. And discovering the root of all her evil wasn’t only eye-opening for me, but also for Noc and all the other main characters in this series. Their reactions were palpable and I especially loved seeing Frey’s response and reaction to discovering what had been going on with his cousin for so many years. I already loved the guy and seeing him being the protective cousin made me love him even more. 

“What makes a hero is the one that’s left standing when the others are dead. Or the one that gave his life so the others could live. That’s a fuckin’ hero.”

Now what I really loved the most about the romantic pairing in Midnight Soul was that Kristen Ashley shook things up a bit by pairing a man from the “real” world and a woman from the fantasy parallel world. I think it just made more sense that Franka would end up being with a man not from her world. A man who hadn’t seen first-hand her malicious ways and didn’t have any preconceived notions about her character. Noc’s patience and steady support during Franka’s transformation is what really makes your heart flutter. He definitely shows a lot more patience than KA’s other heroes, but in Franka’s state, it’s just what she needed.

While I admired the fact that Noc took his time with Frannie (as he liked to call her because he thought that Franka sounded too harsh) and I think it was the right decision, this is where the story lost me for a bit. Compared to the other books in the series, Midnight Soul definitely moves at a much slower pace. The couples no longer have to fight evil tyrants or wicked witches, so the meat of this story was solely Franka and Noc’s romance and giving us a look at the lives of the previous couples. While I loved catching up with the previous characters and appreciated seeing Franka and Noc’s relationship evolve from friendship to love, I was hoping there would have been a greater story arc before we got to the epilogue. The story does pick up during the second half of the book and this is the part that I really enjoyed. KA kinda gives a throwback to book one by showing us Franka’s reaction to the “real” world. Yes, KA mixes things up again by bringing the fantasyland character to our world. Just like how I enjoyed reading Finnie’s reaction to fantasyland, Franka’s reactions to our world was really cute. It really makes you realize how we sometimes take for granted all the little luxurious we enjoy  like a modern toilet or getting a mani and pedi.

“You don’t have a midnight soul, Frannie. Your soul is so bright, I look too close, I’d be blinded.”

Saying goodbye to characters is always hard but Kristen Ashley does a magnificent job in telling Franka and Noc’s journey to happily ever after; and delivers one hell of a send off for the rest of the Fantasyland couples by giving us one of my favorite ever KA epilogues. While Midnight Soul might have started on a slow note for me, Ashley solidly delivers a fitting ending for a series that I have grown to love in such a short period of time. As always, KA kills the epilogue and really left me satisfied and happy for all the characters in this series. She also gives us a taste of a budding romance that I’m hoping she’ll eventually turn in to a novella. For fans of this series, this is a do.not.miss.read. 

MS Teaser 1

~ ~ Excerpt ~~

~Franka~

“You need to leave,” I declared.

His brows drew together a moment before his expression showed clearly that comprehension had dawned.

Sadly, comprehension might have dawned but he didn’t leave.

He crouched by the bed and offered in a soft voice, “You need me to carry you to the other room so you can have a bit of privacy?”

Dear goddess.

He thought I needed a chamber pot.

But…

What was happening to my face?

Dear goddess!

The heat I felt in my cheeks could be nothing other than me blushing.

I didn’t blush. I’d never blushed. Not even when I’d set about seducing my first lover at age sixteen.

I needed to be quit of this man as soon as possible.

“No…I…do…not,” I bit out.

“Sure?” he asked kindly.

“I need you to leave, Noctorno,” I used his full name in an effort to irritate, something that worked if the flare in his eyes was any indication, “so Josette can prepare me. We’re away to Kristian’s this morning.”

Another drawing of his brows before he asked, “What?”

“After my toilette, Josette and I are to my sleigh so we can begin our journey to my brother’s home.”

His eyes got bigger as his mouth inquired peculiarly, “Are you high?”

“No,” I answered his ridiculous question unnecessarily, “Indeed, I’m low. As you can see since I’m lying abed.”

For a second he just stared at me.

Then he threw his head back and burst into loud, deep, beautiful laughter.

I wanted to throw something at him.

Unfortunately, in my current position, this was not an option open to me.

“I fail to see what’s amusing,” I noted.

He controlled his mirth only to mutter, “I’ll explain it later.” He went on more distinctly, “Frannie, you’re not goin’ to your brother’s today. Or tomorrow. Or until you’re fit. Then, maybe Valentine will spirit you there, or whatever the fuck that’s called. But for the foreseeable future, your ass is in that bed and you’re resting so you can heal.”

Well!

Who did he think he was, telling me what I would or would not do?

“As you’ve determined,” I began, “this is not the first time I’ve been in this condition so I do believe that I know best what I’m capable of and…”

I stopped speaking because he came slightly out of his crouch so he could put his face into my face and he was no longer looking mirthful.

He was looking angry.

Very angry.

“That was when you had no one lookin’ out for you but that’s not the case anymore. So this is how it’s gonna be,” he announced.

He then, to my shock, irritation and outrage, announced how it was going to be.

Like he had the right to tell me how it was going to be!

~~Giveaway~~

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn’t taken her first breath!).

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.


read more

Review: Wildest Dreams by Kristen Ashley

Review: Wildest Dreams by Kristen AshleyWildest Dreams by Kristen Ashley
Series: Fantasyland #1
Published by Kristen Ashley August 5, 2011
Genres: Romance, Fantasy
Pages: 536
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Midnight Soul
Also by this author: At Peace
Amazon US
Goodreads

Seoafin “Finnie” Wilde was taught by her parents that every breath was a treasure and to seek every adventure she could find. And she learns this lesson the hard way when they perish in a plane crash. But she never forgets and when she discovers there is a parallel universe where every person has a twin, she finds a witch who can send her there so she can have the adventure of a lifetime.

But upon arrival in the Winter Wonderland of Lunwyn, she realizes she’s been played by her twin and finds herself walking down the aisle to be wed to The Drakkar.

Thrown into inauspicious circumstances, with years of practice, Finnie bests the challenges and digs into her adventure. But as Frey Drakkar discovers the woman who is his new wife is not Princess Sjofn, a woman he dislikes but instead, his Finnie, a free-spirit with a thirst for venture just like him, without her knowledge he orders his new bride bound to his frozen world, everlasting.

But at the same time Frey plunges Finnie into a web of political intrigue that includes assassination plots, poison, magic, mystery and… dragons.

I seem to be in a perpetual reading slump and the only thing that really brings me joy these days is a Kristen Ashley novel. It’s no secret that I’m a HUGE fan of Kristen Ashley; I think Kristen could write about paint drying and I’d probably enjoy the shit out of it. The woman has a way with her words that totally connects with me and has me feeling all the butterfly flutters in my stomach. It could also be that her over-the-top Alphas just DOT IT for me. So when I realized a few weeks ago that the fifth and final book in the Fantasyland series, Midnight Soul, would be coming out soon, I thought that now would be a good time to read the books that I’ve been collecting (hoarding) for the last few years.

Wildest Dreams is unlike anything that Kristen Ashley has ever written. In this series, Ashley takes you away from her typical backdrop of Denver or the Colorado mountains, and brings you to a fantastical parallel world where elves and dragons exist, animals can speak to you, and Kings and Queens rule. Don’t get me wrong, I love KA’s contemporary romance world, but Fantasyland has elves and dragons. Elves and Dragons!! How could I not quickly fall in love with this world?

“You, everything about you, is beyond my wildest dreams.”

Seofine “Finnie” Wilde’s adventurous heart and deep love and admiration for her deceased parents has her seeking the help of a powerful modern day witch to transport her to a parallel world where she switches places with her “twin,” Sjofn, in order to see her parents again. She eagerly jumps into her new world with minimal questions and lands just in time for her to marry Frey Drakkar, leader of the dragons and elves. Finnie obviously gets more than what she bargained for and this new adventure has her falling for a sweet & loving jackass and becomes a pawn in a dangerous game of thrones. 

“I was going to stay with a man I loved in this fabulous world that had elves and dragons. And I was going to do it forever.”

Even if you aren’t big on fantasy or paranormal romance, Wildest Dreams still has all the elements that makes it a Kristen Ashley novel. From the badass Alpha hero, sassy and adventurous heroine, swoony romance and elements of danger, this book is bound to take you on a fantastic fairytale reading adventure. Like with all other KA stories, Ashley captures all the major and sometimes inconsequential moments that shows the growth in Finnie and Frey’s relationship. Nothing is ever fleshed out quickly, and all of KA’s couples always have to learn every single nuance about each other. 

Together, Finnie and Frey are a funny, adorable and sweet couple. Individually, they are pretty badass. It was easy to admire Finnie’s strength and her willingness to learn new things and jump to a new adventure. Frey is a quintessential KA Alpha male. He’s protective and bossy, but is also very sweet and devoted to Finnie. If Alpha males are your thing, then you’ll definitely love Frey. On top of that, he’s the leader of the freaking elves and dragons. Dragons!!

“There are reasons we walk this earth. I’m coming to realize mine.”

I shouldn’t have waited to long to read this series but I’m glad that I finally did. Kristen Ashley delivers an exceptionally sexy, romantic fantasy book that swept me off my feet and brought me to a fairytale world that I never wanted to leave. KA leaves a few hints on what happens in the nest installment and I cannot wait to dive in further into this fantastical world. 

 

 

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn’t taken her first breath!).

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.


read more

RERUN Review: Soulless by Gail Carriger

RERUN Review: Soulless by Gail CarrigerSoulless by Gail Carriger
Series: Parasol Protectorate #1
Published by Orbit October 1, 2009
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Steampunk
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon US
Goodreads

Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.

First, she has no soul. Second, she's a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire--and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London's high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

RERUN Reviews features reviews by Debbie, previously published on Keep Calm Read Romance or Talk Supe — and reviews by Ali previously published on GingerRead Reviews.

Soulless is an enjoyable mix of urban fantasy, romance, humor, mystery and a good helping of steampunk. The novel was a welcomed breath of fresh air from my normal reading habits. Ok, so it’s not that much off my regular urban fantasy/romance novels, but with the addition of steampunk Victorian age, it almost felt like I was reading an almost different genre. I have to be honest and confess that it did take me a few moments to get adjusted to the proper English. It’s easy to tell that Carriger was heavily influenced by the works of Jane Austen and writers from that era, but I also found the heroine to posses characteristics similar to Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones. Once I was acclimated to the proper speech, I was more than ready for all the tea parties, balls and tomfoolery this novel had to offer.

I found this book to be cute, clever, and funny. Carriger has created a cast of main and side characters that really gets the story moving and keeps you highly entertained while Alexia Tarabotti makes her mark in becoming some kind of super sleuth. Alexia is like the female Sherlock Holmes and I just couldn’t help but love her curious and sarcastic personality. She’s surrounded by entertaining secondary characters such as her over-the-top, fashion forward vampire friend Lord Akeldama (who I envisioned to look and act like Austen Scarlett from Project Runway); and her naive and vapid human best friend, Miss Ivy Hisselpenny, who has terrible taste is hats. The on-going bit of Alexia complaining about her friends terrible taste in headwear was hilarious.

Next we’ve got Alexia’s family. I have a love/hate relationship with the group family which includes her nosy, disparaging and overly social conscious mother, step-father and step-sisters. Although the interactions with her family was comical, I did grow tired of their constant diminishing remarks. I mean really, the continual berating about her olive complexion, roman nose and lack of a husband kinda got old. But I guess that’s what families are for right? Can’t live with them but you can’t live without them.

Last but not least we have Alexia’s love interest, the delicious Lord Conall Maccon, the Earl of Woolsey and Alpha leader of the local wolf pack. He’s also the lead investigator for all the supernatural activities in London. In the beginning of the novel, he’s actually quite perturbed by Miss Tarabotti and views her as a busybody. They squabble incessantly and one would initially think they hated each other but as we all know it’s just a mask to cover up their hunger for each other. I thoroughly enjoyed the dynamics between Alexia and Lord Maccon and those two just get way too cute when they start to warm up to each other.

The world that Gail Carriger has created in this series is very interesting and well done. I loved how she was able to ingrate the paranormal, steampunk and Victorian age. I loved the idea of supernatural creatures living so openly with the normal humans, especially in the era that the story takes place. With the setting, magic and unforgettable cast of characters, Soulless is a fantastic beginning to the Parasol Protectorate series. If you’re looking for something different, this highly entertaining historical fantasy is definitely a great book to read.

 

About Gail Carriger

Gail Carriger writes steampunk comedies of manners mixed with urban fantasy. Her books include the Parasol Protectorate and Custard Protocol series for adults, and the Finishing School series for young adults. She is published in 18 different languages and has 13 NYT bestsellers via 7 different lists (including #1 in Manga). She was once an archaeologist and is overly fond of shoes, octopuses, and tea.


read more

RERUN Review: Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning

RERUN Review: Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie MoningBeyond the Highland Mist by Karen marie Moning
Series: Highlander #1
Published by Dell November 4, 2009
Genres: Romance, Historical Romance, Fantasy
Pages: 375
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon US

He would sell his warrior soul to possess her. . . .

An alluring laird...

He was known throughout the kingdom as Hawk, legendary predator of the battlefield and the boudoir. No woman could refuse his touch, but no woman ever stirred his heart—until a vengeful fairy tumbled Adrienne de Simone out of modern-day Seattle and into medieval Scotland. Captive in a century not her own, entirely too bold, too outspoken, she was an irresistible challenge to the sixteenth-century rogue. Coerced into a marriage with Hawk, Adrienne vowed to keep him at arm's length—but his sweet seduction played havoc with her resolve.

A prisoner in time...

She had a perfect "no" on her perfect lips for the notorious laird, but Hawk swore she would whisper his name with desire, begging for the passion he longed to ignite within her. Not even the barriers of time and space would keep him from winning her love. Despite her uncertainty about following the promptings of her own passionate heart, Adrienne's reservations were no match for Hawk's determination to keep her by his side. . . .

After reading the Fever Series, I was curious as to what Karen Marie Moning’s other novels had to offer. Once again, KMM did not disappoint! The novel heavily relies on time travel and fantasy elements to drive the story. And what a fun and delicious story it was!

Beyond the Highland Mist starts off in the Fae Island of Morar where Fairie Queen Aoibheal, speaks praises about a mortal man named Hawk to her King and Court Fool. Hawk is known throughout his kingdom as a legendary warrior and lover to hundreds (maybe thousands?) of women. She tells of stories about his manhood, that at half-mast would make a stallion envious and at full-mast steals a woman’s mind from her body (yup…already got me gulping). Feeling sick to his stomach with the thought of his Queen lusting after a mere mortal, the Faerie King in a fit of jealousy orders the Court Fool Adam Black to find a way to punish Hawk. Adam muses that the best punishment for Hawk was to bring to upon him a woman who not only would resist his perfect countenance, but also his sexual prowess.

Enter Adrienne de Simone, a twentieth-century woman scorned by an ex-fiancé, who has vowed never to be made a fool of my beautiful men. On one eerie night, she is plucked from her present-time Seattle home, and dropped onto the lap of a sixteenth-century Scottish Laird, Red Comyn. Thinking that Adrienne has been some sort of miracle dropped from the sky, Red Comyn coerces Adrienne to pose as his recently dead daughter, Janet, and marry Sidheach “Hawk” James Lyon Douglas, Laird of Dalkeith Upon-the-Sea, in order to fill an order by King James.

Neither party is keen to the arranged marriage. Hawk even sends his best friend, Grimm, as a proxy to his wedding (I nearly fell out of my seat laughing at the ridiculousness of sending another man to stand in place of the groom). Of course Hawk and Adrienne are instantly attracted to each other (once they finally meet each other), but neither is eager or willing to admit it at the beginning. Immediately after the wedding, someone continually tries to take Adrienne’s life. To make matters worse, Adam Black has decided to place himself in the equation and tries to lure Adrienne from Hawk. The sudden love-triangle elevates Hawk’s bit of jealousy and we are succumbed to Adam and Hawk’s pissing contest throughout the duration of the book.

Beyond the Highland Mist is a wonderful blend of magic, humor, otherworldly things and time travel all wrapped inside a medieval romance. The Faerie world that Moning has created leaves the reader thinking that they are a genuine race who’s magic and allure exceeds every ones expectations. The protagonists are truly multi-dimensional. Hawk is an example of a true alpha-male.He’s handsome, strong, masculine in every way, but has a past that makes him vulnerable. Of course his ways of wooing our heroine was egotistical and barbaric, but then I had to remind myself that, that’s just how things were during the medieval times. Adrienne is beautiful, strong and independent. A woman scorned during her present life, she found it difficult to let her guards down while living in the past. There were times where I found her a little shrewd and too blind of her own feelings, but as a woman I could understand her predicament.

Overall, Beyond the Highland Mist has all the elements of a good romance novel without all the cheesy and greasy aspects of other romance series. It had a great mix of enchantment, sexual tension and good ol’ romance PLUS an endearing and lovely mother-in-law. So if you’re into beautiful men clad kilts, romance and sexual tension then I suggest you pick this book up.

 

 

About Karen marie Moning

Karen Marie Moning was born in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1964, the daughter of Anthony R. and Janet L. Moning. The family moved to a self-sustaining farm in Indiana when she was six years old, where she spent her youth raising cows, horses, tobacco, corn and other crops with her sisters and brother.

An alum of the Immaculate Conception Academy, at seventeen she attended Purdue University where she completed a BA in Society & Law, with minors in Philosophy, Creative Writing and Theatre, while working full time as a bartender and computer consultant. She intended to go to law school but after an internship with a firm of Criminal Attorneys, decided against it. For the next decade, she worked in insurance, where she wrote intercompany arbitrations and directed commercial litigation. At the age of thirty, she decided it was time to get serious and do what she’d always wanted to do: write fiction novels.

Beyond the Highland Mist was published in 1999 and nominated for two RITA awards. She then published six more novels in her award-winning HIGHLANDER series, and received the RITA Award in 2001 for The Highlander’s Touch.

In 2004, she began writing the #1 New York Times bestselling FEVER series. The books have been optioned twice for potential franchise development by Twentieth Century Fox and DreamWorks Studios, but the rights are currently held by Moning who has expressed a desire to one day see it as a television series. Her novels have been published in over thirty countries. She divides her time between Ohio and Florida and is working on two future projects for Random House Publishing.


read more

RERUN Reviews: Reaper’s Property by Joanna Wylde

RERUN Reviews: Reaper’s Property by Joanna WyldeReaper's Property by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC
January 9, 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 306
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon US
Goodreads

Marie doesn’t need a complication like Horse. The massive, tattooed, badass biker who shows up at her brother’s house one afternoon doesn’t agree. He wants Marie on his bike and in his bed. Now.

But Marie just left her abusive jerk of an ex-husband and she’s not looking for a new man. Especially one like Horse—she doesn’t know his real name or where he lives, she’s ninety percent certain he’s a criminal and that the “business” he talks with her brother isn’t website design. She needs him out of her life, which would be a snap if he’d just stop giving her mind-blowing orgasms.

Horse is part of the Reapers Motorcycle Club, and when he wants something, he takes it. What he wants is Marie, but she’s not interested in becoming “property of”.

Then her brother steals from the club. Marie can save him by giving Horse what he wants—at home, in public, on his bike… If she’s a very, very good girl, she’ll get lots more of those orgasms only he can offer, and he’ll let her brother live.
Maybe.

I love reading sexy romances. I especially love sexy romances with hot badass bikers. Kristen Ashley and Madeline Sheehan fan over here. So, when I first heard about Reaper’s Property I knew that it was something that I needed to add to my TBR. To say that I liked the book would be an understatement. I freaking LOVED this book! After reading this book I wanted to kick my own ass for not reading it sooner.

Reaper’s Property begins with Marie, walking in to the trailer home she shares with her brother, Jeff, and sees him beaten, bloodied, and surrounded by some terrifying bikers from the Reaper’s Motorcycle Club. The MC has paid Jeff a visit to collect the money (plus interest) he had stolen from the club. But since Jeff has been preoccupied with getting high and gambling, the MC has decided the only way to even the debt is by putting him to the ground. Not wanting to see her brother get killed, Marie tries to bargain by telling them she will do whatever to save his life. The only solution the club comes up with is for Marie to become “property of” Horse, a club member who wants nothing but Marie on the back of his back, in his house and in his bed.

“Someday I’m going to own all of you, Marie. You’re all mine, babe. Knew it the first time I saw you. Couldn’t give it up if I tried.”

Weeks prior to seeing her brother almost killed by the Reaper’s, Marie had recently just moved back in to her childhood home after leaving her cheating and abusive husband. As she’s trying to put her life back together, Marie meets the Reaper’s when they stop by to visit Jeff, who was doing some computer work for the club. Sparks immediately fly when Marie and Horse meet and over the next few weeks the sexual tension builds to epic proportions and they end up having a few sexual encounters that set the pages on fire. But things come to an immediate halt after Marie rejects Horse’s proposal for her to be his old lady.

The story then picks back up from where the prologue left off and we see Marie keeping her word and goes with the Reapers to Idaho. Obviously, Marie isn’t all too excited to be Horse’s “property” but can’t help herself from getting excited thinking about getting intimate with Horse again. Now some of you might be raising your eyebrows over the fact that Marie is Horse’s property. In Horse’s world, the word property means a whole different thing from what Marie perceives. Although Marie is his, Horse always gives Marie a choice and reminds her that she can leave at any time she wants. He provides for her, shelters her, protects her and most importantly, cares and loves her. Marie struggles throughout the whole book to comprehend the MC lifestyle but as she gets in deeper and deeper with Horse and the rest of his club, she slowly begins to understand that being his property means a whole different thing from what she originally thought. And I’m sure all the orgasms the man gave her helped her love his lifestyle.

“I want you to be my old lady, babe. That’s all I have to offer. I’m a Reaper, and this is my world. You wear my patch, you be my woman and I’ll be your man. We take the good times together and fight the bad times. No games.”

As with a lot of the romances I read, I am always more of a fan of the hero than the heroine. Horse makes no apologies for his actions and once he sets his eyes on something (or someone), then nothing comes in his way. He’s arrogant, chauvinistic, bossy and dominant. He’s pretty much an asshole but a sexy asshole that will get your loins quivering. His old fashioned thinking might be a turnoff for most women but his intentions are in the right place and he loves and lust for his woman like crazy and that is what’s most important to me. And if you’re wondering why Horse is called Horse it’s because he’s hung like a ……

Aside from the sexy bikers and the sexy times between Marie and Horse, what really made me enjoy this book was that it takes place in an area of Washington that I’m very familiar with. The place where Marie and her brother live is about an hour away from where I live so, when Wylde describes their surroundings I had a more vivid picture of it than what most readers probably imagined. Knowing the area in Washington and even Idaho made my whole reading experience so much more awesome and it gave me tingles just thinking about sexy bikers living around these parts. Although, I haven’t come across any bikers that would have me quivering like Horse. LOL.

Reaper’s Property was my first Joanna Wylde book and it definitely won’t be my last. Wylde made me laugh, cry, and set my skin on fire with the sexy romance between Horse and Marie. If you’re a fan of sexy badass bikers that’ll take you on a wild ride on his bike and in his bedroom, then you definitely need to read Reaper’s Property. Definitely cannot wait to read more from Wylde and this series.

 

* Review Originally Published September 2013

 

 


read more


%d bloggers like this: