Audiobook Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Audiobook Review:  Ugly Love by Colleen HooverUgly Love by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books August 5th, 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 337
Format: Audio
Source: Purchased
Narrator: Deacon Lee, Grace Grant
Amazon US
Goodreads

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

This book.

Eff me, this book.

It’s been days, maybe even weeks, since I finished and my stomach still hurts when I think about it.  

I’m not sure why I started it.  I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover as a person (I mean, come on.  She’s hilarious.  Freakishly giving.  Her family is adorkable.  She’s just…the best.)   And then with her books I’m hit or miss.  Half of them are 5+ stars and destroy me, or I DNF them.  There’s no in between.  I didn’t plan to read this book, but somehow it was on my audiobook purchased list (no idea how) so I just said, “fuck it,” and started it.

The narrators kind of bothered me at first.  I wasn’t diggin’ the male voice at the beginning, and the chick sounded like a less annoying Miley Cyrus.  I almost switched to ebook version at one point… but before I knew it, the story had sucked me in and the voices just seemed right.

Anyway, Ugly Love follows two main characters.  Tate, the female, is in present tense.  Miles, the male character, in the past.   While we listen to Tate’s life in the now, her story with Miles in the now, we hear about Miles’ past from him.  So while their relationship seems like a disastrous hot mess, we’re given these little pieces of Mile’s past and it all starts to make sense why he is the way he is.

I connected to Miles on such a personal level.  What he goes through, what he felt…I’ve been there.  I’ve felt that.  I won’t say what, because it’s a huge spoiler, but Miles is… perfection.  Yes, he’s a fucking asshole as an adult.  But Miles as a teenage is EVERYTHING.  Everything.  Seriously.  Young Miles is the epitome of perfection, and I loved him.  I rooted for him, all while I knew it wasn’t going to end well because I could see what he was like as an adult.  An asshole.  Jaded.  Mean.  Stand-offish.  Broken.  Miles as an adult is fucking broken in so many pieces you can’t even imagine all those jagged edges finding their match and him being whole again.

And that killed me.  To know he was that fucked up.  And that adorable, perfect, hopeful young Miles was going to be destroyed in a terrible, awful way.

Miles and Tate are pretty much fuck buddies.  All sex, no feelings.  Don’t ask about each other’s pasts, don’t expect a future, just enjoy the now when it happens.

That’s obviously a disaster waiting to happen.

Anyway, I don’t know how else to describe this book without giving things away. But I can tell you it made me feel everything. I felt a ton of joy.  And I felt even more heartbreak.  My black, evil little heart fucking broke so hard at one point I was a sobbing, snotty mess.  Seriously, I cried my fucking eyes out.  The pain I felt was visceral and it destroyed me.

Colleen Hoover is a fucking genius, and this book is 5+ stars on my scale.  I loved it.  I loved all the ugly parts and all the beautiful ones.  

 

 


read more
Review:  Swear On This Life by Renee CarlinoSwear On This Life by Renee Carlino
Published by Atria Books August 9, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Copy for Honest Review
Amazon US
Goodreads

When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.

Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio.

That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending.

The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?

Aw, man. “Before We Were Strangers” was a TOP top read for me last year. So when I heard Swear On This Life was coming out, I was so excited. All the early reviews were raving about how amazing and life changing the story was.  I’ve read Carlino before, so I know how much her stories can settle deep inside you and consume your mind for days and weeks.

But for me, it fell a bit flat. I loved the premise of a novel being told inside the novel, and actually, the inside story was the only part I enjoyed. I liked those characters. I liked their story. They were young, and dealt really hard cards, and even in the toughest of times, they tried their hardest to prevail.  They loved when they were never even showed what love was.  They tried for each other when no one had ever put effort into them.  

But the two real characters? I really disliked them. Neither seemed to have any redeeming qualities at all. I couldn’t connect with them and found myself wanting them to stop talking and to go back to reading the “other book”.

Plus… when they reunited? And the ending? Both so anti-climatic it was almost painful. So much build up, so much angst and tension and excitement.. and both of those parts of the book were quite unsatisfactory.  I wanted  their happiness and success so bad I could taste it, but neither were really celebrated.

The reviews are really amazing for the book, so I’m probably one of the only readers feeling a bit underwhelmed. So, if you like second-chance romances, especially about kids on the wrong side of the tracks who find themselves later in life… definitely give it a try. Renee Carlino is a fantastic writer, seriously. I just didn’t connect with this specific set of characters.

*2.5-3 stars*


read more

Review: Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

Review:  Hidden Bodies by Caroline KepnesHidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes
Published by Atria Books Feb. 23, 2016
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 448
Format: ARC, eBook
Source: Copy for Honest Review
Amazon US
Goodreads

Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him.

In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: truelove. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice...

Oh, Caroline Kepnes.  I am so in love with your brain, and I mean that in the least creepy way possible.  Like, I’m certain you and I are meant to be the bestest of friends.  We can have slumber parties and I’ll brush your hair while you tell me the fucked up shit that runs through your mind.

See?  We were meant to be.  (Call me!)

Ahem.  Anyway.  Hidden Bodies.   THIS BOOK!  You guys, if you haven’t read YOU, which is book one, we cannot be friends.  Like, at all.  That book was a top 2015 read for me, and Hidden Bodies will absolutely be a top 2016 read for me as well.  There is just something about Kepnes‘ writing style that keeps you hooked.   It’s haunting, yet playful.  Freaky, yet endearing.  Her characters are the perfect anti-heroes, yet… you find yourself falling in love with and rooting for them.

Both books follow Joe.  Joe is a perfect man fucked up guy.  Joe is normal has issues.  But Joe has a lot of love that he really just wants to give to somebody…even if he ends up killing everyone around them, and well…. them, too.  Like I said, Joe has issues.

“Fucking and killing are the same damn thing.”

Closeup view portrait of one handsome bearded young macho man with strong look hazel eyes and sexy lips standing in light looking forward in studio on black background horizontal picture

 

Spoiler alert, but in book one…Joe kills the woman he stalks, falls in love with, and dates.  Yeah, their love story doesn’t really end well.  So when this book starts and his new girlfriend steals from him and runs away, he goes across the fucking country to find her, because Joe needs answers.

And there in the good ‘ol Hollywood Hills, Joe falls in love with Love.  And she. is. perfection.  She’s just as crazy as Joe, maybe a bit more at times…and I LOVED them together.

“Love’s eyes remain on me and I know.  She’s a pervert too.”

Portrait of one beautiful sensual sexy young serious passionate blonde woman with long hair in leather black jacket in studio on wooden wall background square picture

 

Joe and Love’s love story isn’t perfect.  There are so many ups and down, so many secrets, so many ‘Awww they’re meant to be!’s that you never really know if these two psychopaths are perfect for each other or if they are going to go up in flames.  Literally.

“She is evil.  She is dangerous.  She is incapable of love.  She is a sociopath.  Worse than borderline.  She’s criminal.”

Plus, the side characters and the many, multiple intertwined plot lines?  #^%#&@(#*$^#(@   Gah!  Be still, my heart.  No one can write this shit like Caroline.  No one.

So… the question of the day is:  Can Joe and Love have their happily-ever-fucked-up-after with a trail of dead bodies following them into the sunset?  Can Joe keep his knife secrets away from Love?  Will Love still be breathing by the end of the book?  Will Joe?  WILL ANYONE??

Well, you’ll have to read to find out.  And trust me, this book is freaking phenomenal and you will love every single second of it.

 


read more

RERUN Reviews: Naked by Raine Miller

RERUN Reviews: Naked by Raine MillerNaked by Raine Miller
August 25, 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon US
Goodreads

The first book in the bestselling Blackstone Affair trilogy! Naked desire. Secret Satisfaction. An affair you’ll never forget.

Brynne Bennett has left scandal in her past and is living the good life. An American grad student at the University of London and part-time photographic model, she’s getting back on track with lots of hard work and focus on a career in art conservation. When successful and charismatic London businessman Ethan Blackstone buys her nude portrait, he wants to possess more than just her image. He wants Brynne in his bed, serving him in every way possible. He has no trouble voicing his desires, and he isn’t taking “no” for an answer.

At first, his dominant nature captivates her, but it isn’t clear if the force of his powerful desire will ultimately awaken or dispel the demons Brynne is carrying inside. There are secrets on both sides of this relationship—huge ones. Can Ethan erase the scars of Brynne’s past so that she can reveal her true self to him? Or will the shadows cast by Ethan’s own mysterious former life destroy their chance at happiness?

Naked is the sizzling, unforgettable story of what happens when a strong woman meets the one man powerful enough to strip away all her defenses, leaving her standing naked and perfect before him.

Rerun Reviews features reviews by Debbie, previously published on Keep Calm Read Romance or Talk Supe — and reviews by Ali previously published on GingerRead Reviews.
 

I must admit the cover  for Naked caught my eye first, and then I read that the heroine would be falling for a sexy Brit. I immediately heading over to Amazon before I even finished reading the synopsis. I’ve found a new guy to swoon over. A sexy, domineering Alpha male with a British accent. I think I’m already in love. Yes, I’m definitely a fan of Naked’s male lead, Ethan Blackstone.

“That picture changed everything. I was not the same after I saw it and I couldn’t go back to the man I’d been before seeing it either. Not after we met that night on the street. My whole world altered because of a photograph. A photograph of my beautiful American girl.”

Brynne Bennet is a young and beautiful American graduate studying at the University of London. She’s been living in London for the past four years after running away from a pretty dark and painful past. To make some extra cash while going to school, Brynne models for “artistic nude photography” for her good friend, Benny. While at a showing for Benny’s work, Brynne is informed by her friend that a very sexy man has just purchased her photograph.

“Ethan Blackstone was dangerous territory for a girl like me – Great White shark is hungry for lone swimmer in cove – territory.”

While they don’t meet at the event, Brynne eventually runs into Ethan Blackstone after he sees her leaving the gallery and offers her a ride home. Although she’s a little hesitant at first, Brynne eventually agrees for Ethan to take her home. The next day Ethan gives Brynne a ring and asks her out but she politely declines. This rejection doesn’t deter Ethan because he makes multiple attempts in asking Brynne out until she finally caves. The strong sexual attraction to Ethan is evident right from the start, and after their first date Brynne embarks in a relationship tha’ts both emotionally and sexually intense.

“The sex never ended with this man. And I was on board the sexy train right with him, flashing my frequent traveler pass.”

Brynne was a fairly likable character. She’s obviously suffered something terrible where she had to run away from her home life she’s still out going and out spoken. She embraces her sexuality and needs. Ethan Blackstone is delish. He’s an ex-Special Forces agent whose gone into private security business and made quite a fortune. He’s very intense, bossy, domineering and persistent. The fact that he was also British really had my blood going for him. The sex scenes were sizzling! I don’t know if these billionaires take a special Sex: 101 course, but hot damn why must they be so skilled in the boudoir?

“I was sorry. I really meant it too. I was sorry that parts of me were damaged and broken but it didn’t change the facts either.”

If you’re a fan steamy sex and characters with dark hidden pasts then you’ll want to pick up this series. Naked will lure you in, the characters will intrigue you and the story will keep you wanting more. This was my first Raine Miller novella and I enjoyed is tremendously. The ending was a bit of a cliffhanger which has me even more excited for the second installment which will be told in Ethan’s POV. If my little review isn’t enough to persuade you to read Naked then I’d like for you to sit on this little tidbit …. David Gandy as Ethan Blackstone!

Review originally posted September 2012

 

 


read more

Review: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker

Review: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. TuckerHe Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker
February 2, 2016
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: Copy for Honest Review
Amazon US
Goodreads

A woman who almost had it all . . .

On the surface, Celine Gonzalez had everything a twenty-eight-year-old woman could want: a one-bedroom apartment on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, a job that (mostly) paid the bills, and an acceptance letter to the prestigious Hollingsworth Institute of Art, where she would finally live out her dream of becoming an antiques appraiser for a major auction house. All she had worked so hard to achieve was finally within her reach. So why would she kill herself?

A man who was supposed to be her salvation . . .

Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a lethal cocktail of pills and vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers a scandalous photograph in a lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man Celine believed would change her life.

Until he became her ruin.

On the hunt for evidence that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer. A killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

I love it when an author tries something new. Win or fail, you have to take chances in life.  This business isn’t always (rarely, in fact) kind to such risks by authors. Genre hopping backfires quite often.  Yet, I’m still a fan when they try.  However, I can say, unequivocally, that Tucker did not fail with this risk.  She may have hit the scene as a romance writer, but she excels just as easily as a suspense writer.

If you go into He Will Be My Ruin with any expectations of it being remotely like her previous titles, you’ll not get what your looking for. This is not a romance. There is some budding relations and sexual interactions but I would never classify this as romantic.  Let’s just be clear about that up front.

What this is – is a murder mystery at it’s core.  Maggie’s life long friend ends up dead in her New York apartment, police rule it a suicide but Maggie is less than convinced.  With no hope of help from authorities, she dives into the facts and clues herself and recruits some help along the way.   While digging, she realizes her friend, Celine, had a much different life than she led Maggie to believe and the secrets she held, the people she knew, led to her untimely death.

And also to the danger Maggie finders her own life in now, because there is still a killer on the loose.

From the beginning of this tale there were two fairly clear suspects for me and I bounced back and forth between them often.  I also had moments when I thought side characters were playing a bigger part in the backstory than the story suggested – I played with several scenarios in my head.  Hoping some would flesh out and hoping others wouldn’t.  All of that is what makes a great suspense story for me.  If I have it all figured out too early on, I won’t want to continue reading.  This wasn’t the case here, Tucker kept my mind working. 

While I don’t know that this is going to be as explosive of a seller as say, Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train, I can most definitely see it finding a loving home with those who gravitate to those type of titles.  It’s got a lot of what those big selling Mystery / Suspense books have.  I think the only thing that really lacked for me was a bit of character development, for a couple of the main players.  I think that would have cemented my interest in them all the more.  However, even without that, He Will Be My Ruin will be a memorable read for me and I thoroughly enjoyed every page. 

 

About K.A. Tucker

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons.

She has come a long way from working in crayon. All four books (ANATHEMA, ASYLUM, ALLEGIANCE and ANOMALY) in her best selling YA Paranormal Fantasy series – Causal Enchantment- are available now.

Her USA Today best selling New Adult Contemporary, TEN TINY BREATHS–originally self-published–was acquired by Atria Books (a division of Simon & Schuster), and is available now, along with subsequent books in the series: IN HER WAKE, ONE TINY LIE, FOUR SECONDS TO LOSE, and FIVE WAYS TO FALL. Also out from Atria Books is her Romantic Suspense series: BURYING WATER, BECOMING RAIN, CHASING RIVER, SURVIVING ICE, and coming in February, 2016, her first adult suspense novel, HE WILL BE MY RUIN.

K.A. is a voracious reader and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and a chug.


read more

Review: Racing the Sun by Karina Halle

Review: Racing the Sun by Karina HalleRacing the Sun (Where Sea Meets Sky, #2) by Karina Halle
Series: Where Sea Meets Sky
Published by Atria Books July 28th 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: Copy for Honest Review
Also by this author: Dust to Dust
Amazon US
Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of Where Sea Meets Sky comes a new adult novel about a young woman who becomes a nanny in Capri and falls for her charges’ bad-boy brother.

It’s time for twenty-four-year-old Amber MacLean to face the music. After a frivolous six months of backpacking through New Zealand, Australia, and Southeast Asia, she finds herself broke on the Mediterranean without enough money for a plane ticket home to California. There are worse places to be stuck than the gorgeous coastline of southern Italy, but the only job she manages to secure involves teaching English to two of the brattiest children she’s ever met.

It doesn’t help that the children are under the care of their brooding older brother, Italian ex-motorcycle racer Desiderio Larosa. Darkly handsome and oh-so-mysterious, Derio tests Amber’s patience and will at every turn—not to mention her hormones.

But when her position as teacher turns into one as full-time nanny at the crumbling old villa, Amber finds herself growing closer to the enigmatic recluse and soon has to choose between the safety of her life back in the States and the uncertainty of Derio’s closely guarded heart.

This week I visited the city of Capri and fell in love with Derio and Amber, and two little matching twins!

 

Karina is such an amazing descriptive scenery writer that I was vividly able to picture every landscape and blue patch of water that she introduced to us in Racing The Sun. But what always brings me back to her titles is her ability to write travel romance but provide a completely different story each time, each one is entirely different from the last and I find myself adding new countries to my bucket list! After reading RTS I wanted nothing more than to sit on an outdoor balcony with Derio while overlooking the deepest, blue sea and him whispering sweet Italian nothings in my ear…
 

I raise my brow. Is he asking me to sit on his face? Because I’ll totally do that.

 
Now that’s my girl, Amber did not irritate me one time, and usually every heroine does at least once. But I loved her lost spirit and her honesty even when it was hard for her to express it. Her willingness with the twins floored me but her insecurities of becoming a full time nanny totally unannounced and unwelcomed, came with real fears, and brought a few of her own insecurities to the surface. Never the less she was loyal and I adored the intensity of her emotions and truth that she possessed.
 

I wish my tongue was my fingers. I wish I could taste you from the inside.

 

A man who loves frost a lady’s cupcake is my favorite kind of man! Derio was so brooding and sexy, I love how his character evolved throughout the book and I mean come on, he’s Italian! Enough said. But goodness he was was so fierce in all things he did whether he was mad, content, mad again, or possibly happy he did it full force there were no in betweens with him. However, I did hope for a few chapters in Derio’s POV just to have a little more insight on his inner thoughts.

 

The chemistry between these two shone from the beginning it just needed a little push, and once it got going, I was addicted! But how do you have a relationship with your employer all while caring for his younger twin siblings? Along with sporadic mood swings, troubled pasts threatening any kind of future, and the complications of an expiring VISA… Is an intense love enough to overcome all the things that seem to hinder these two…? I will admit I was on edge for quite some time holding my breath for so long I may have turned as pale as Amber!
Overall I am pleased with Racing The Sun and to see that Karina’s “pervyness” is still there and amazing! I’m hoping to possibly see a book for Shay sometime in the future cause I feel like that girl will be my kind of wild… 
 
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a little drama, a few choked up moments, and an Italian with a big penis! I mean really do you need anything else?!

 

 Miss Tiffany - Transparent

About Karina Halle

Karina Halle is a former travel writer and music journalist and The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Bestselling author of Where Sea Meets Sky, Racing the Sun, The Pact, Love, in English, The Artists Trilogy, Dirty Angels and over 20 other wild and romantic reads. She lives on an island off the coast of British Columbia with her husband and her rescue pup, where she drinks a lot of wine, hikes a lot of trails and devours a lot of books.

Halle is represented by the Waxman Leavell Agency and is both self-published and published by Atria Books/Simon & Schuster and Hachette in North America and in the UK.

Hit her up on Instagram at @authorHalle, on Twitter at @MetalBlonde and on Facebook. You can also visit www.authorkarinahalle.com and sign up for the newsletter for news, excerpts, previews, private book signing sales and more.


read more

Review: One More Chance by Abbi Glines

Review: One More Chance by Abbi GlinesOne More Chance by Abbi Glines
Series: Rosemary Beach #8
September 2, 2014
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 273
Format: ARC
Source: Copy for Honest Review
Amazon US
Goodreads

Grant Carter did everything in his power to convince Harlow Manning that he was a good guy. More than a smooth-talker and someone she could trust. He had to overcome his reputation as a playboy, and his history with Harlow's half-sister, Nan, a woman with a reputation of her own.

Harlow had taken the chance, falling hard and fast for the guy who thrilled her with his all-consuming desire. After a lifetime of avoiding bad boys like Grant, she had opened herself to the possibilities of love...

But a life-changing secret has torn them apart, and now Grant and Harlow must decide if they have enough fight to make it work - or if the pain of betrayal has permanently destroyed their future.

Grant Carter has been one of the characters I have been dying to get to know a little better ever since I started this series. But, Miss Glines left me feeling a little disappointed when I finished reading Take a Chance and to be honest I wasn’t even sure I wanted to read Grant and Harlow’s second book. But after all the dust settled and I got over my disappointment, I was more than ready to head back in to the world of Rosemary Beach and get caught up in all the angst, sex, and of course, drama!
 

I was a bastard, a heartless bastard. I didn’t deserve her, but I wanted her more than I wanted to breathe.

The last time we saw Grant Carter, he had just let “the One” walk away because of his fears and doubts. Now, we fast forward to a few months and Grant is a sad mess and beats himself constantly for letting Harlow walk away. Grant spends most of his time in the beginning of ONE MORE CHANCE being utterly miserable and desperate. Serves him right after making such a hasty decision and hurting the person he loves most in the world. Meanwhile, Harlow has hidden herself away at her brothers house to get away from all the reporters and photographers and most importantly, Grant. She spends most of her days feeling just as empty as Grant and doesn’t do a great job of convincing her brother that she’s okay. She may have walked away from Grant but she didn’t leave with her heart unscathed. 

My heart had always been weak, but loving Grant made it strong.

 
It doesn’t take Grant a long time to find Harlow, and when he learns about another secret he’s hiding from her, he jumps on Rush’s private plane to get his woman back. But as with any Abbi Glines book, it’s not an easy road and these two still have a few hurdles before they get their happily ever after. 

To be loved by him is to live. And I loved because he loved me. 

Grant is definitely not the same fun, loving guy that we met at the beginning of this series. With everything that has happened with Jace and his involvement with Nan has really hardened and tainted him. While I had some issues with him in Take a Chance, Grant definitely redeems himself by being the passionate, loving, and over protective man he needs to be for Harlow. Abbi always does a great job of taking these Southern playboys and making them into love sick puppies who would do anything and everything for the women they love. I always love seeing her heroes fall so easily and deeply once they meet the right woman. 
 
Now a Rosemary Beach novel would not be complete with out one of my most hated book characters ever, Nan. She’s been a thorn in every one’s ass since the beginning of this series and Nan continues to be a toxic pain. But it seems Abbi Glines might be having a change of heart with Rosemary’s resident evil bitch because it seems like she was trying really hard to redeem this much hated character. I don’t know if Abbi has any plans of writing a Nan book but I honestly do not have any desire to read it. Not everyone needs to be redeemed and Nan should just stay on track with her bitch train and continue to be the stirrer of drama. She’s just more fun that way. 

He thought I was the hero of our story. How wrong he was. He had been the hero all along.

 
Overall, the conclusion to Grant and Harlow’s story was a satisfying read even though she put her character through a bit of an emotional roller coaster. ONE MORE CHANCE definitely filled in holes that were left empty after I read the previous book and has rejuvenated my love for this series.  I can always count on Abbi Glines to bring the sex, drama, and intrigue. Rosemary Beach is still one of my favorite new adult series and I’m really looking forward to Bethy and Tripp’s book and hopefully more about Mase (Harlow’s older brother) and his friend Major. 
 
 

 

About Abbi Glines

Abbi Glines is a #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Rosemary Beach, Sea Breeze, Vincent Boys, and Existence series. She has a new YA series coming out in the fall of 2015 titled The Field Party Series . She never cooks unless baking during the Christmas holiday counts. She believes in ghosts and has a habit of asking people if their house is haunted before she goes in it. She drinks afternoon tea because she wants to be British but alas she was born in Alabama. When asked how many books she has written she has to stop and count on her fingers. When she’s not locked away writing, she is reading, shopping (major shoe and purse addiction), sneaking off to the movies alone, and listening to the drama in her teenagers lives while making mental notes on the good stuff to use later. Don’t judge.


read more


%d bloggers like this: